Contact Us

Mrs Claire Ferens – Headteacher
Hill View Primary School
Hill View Crescent
Banbury
OX16 1DN

Telephone: Telephone01295 251205
Absence Line: 01295 227149
Absence Email:   absence@hill-view.oxon.sch.uk

 

Any queries please contact Mrs Gregory, Mrs Paynton, Mrs Preest in the school office on the number above or using our contact form below.


Information Line: 01295 227148
Fax: 01295 258455
Click here for a map of how to find us.


We would love to hear from you. Use our Contact Form to send us any comments or suggestions.


About Banbury

Banbury is an historic market town in the north of the county of Oxfordshire surrounded by beautiful countryside. It is recorded in the Domesday Book and its history dates back more than a thousand years to Saxon times.

Fine Lady

This image is © and licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported license.

Historic Banbury is famed for many things, namely its cakes, the nursery rhyme “Ride a Cock Horse” and the Oxford Canal. The name Banbury derives from “Banna”, a Saxon chieftain said to have built a stockade there in the 6th century, and “burgh” meaning settlement. By the time of William the Conqueror ‘Banesberie’ was mentioned in the Domesday book. In the 13th century it had grown to become an important wool trading centre bringing wealth to the local population. In 1628 the town was ravaged by fire which destroyed many buildings, though some have survived to the present day. The opening of the Oxford Canal in 1790 connecting Banbury with the Midlands bought new industries and growth which continued with the arrival of the railways.

Today Banbury is an expanding market and industrial town experiencing growth as a direct benefit of its proximity to the M40 motorway linking London to Birmingham via Oxford. The surrounding area is known informally as Banburyshire and covers the north half of the Cherwell district and neighbouring areas. As Banbury lies near the Oxfordshire border, “Banburyshire” includes parts of beautiful rural Northamptonshire and Warwickshire.


 

 

October 2017
Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday
Mon 25 Sep 2017 Tue 26 Sep 2017 Wed 27 Sep 2017 Thu 28 Sep 2017 Fri 29 Sep 2017
Mon 2 Oct 2017 Tue 3 Oct 2017 Wed 4 Oct 2017 Thu 5 Oct 2017 Fri 6 Oct 2017
Mon 9 Oct 2017 Tue 10 Oct 2017 Wed 11 Oct 2017 Thu 12 Oct 2017 Fri 13 Oct 2017
Mon 16 Oct 2017 Tue 17 Oct 2017 Wed 18 Oct 2017 Thu 19 Oct 2017 Fri 20 Oct 2017

End of Term 1

End of Term 1
Mon 23 Oct 2017

October Holiday

October Holiday
Tue 24 Oct 2017

October Holiday

October Holiday
Wed 25 Oct 2017

October Holiday

October Holiday
Thu 26 Oct 2017

October Holiday

October Holiday
Fri 27 Oct 2017

October Holiday

October Holiday
Mon 30 Oct 2017

Start Term 2

Start Term 2
Tue 31 Oct 2017 Wed 1 Nov 2017 Thu 2 Nov 2017 Fri 3 Nov 2017
Upcoming Events
Subscribe via Email

Enter your email address to receive notifications of News & Events by email.