Safeguarding

Mrs Ferens (Headteacher) is the school’s Designated Safeguarding Lead. Nicky Andews (Welfare Manager), Mrs. Thomas (Deputy Headteacher), Mrs. Rorich (Assistant Headteacher) and Mrs Gregory (School Business Manager) are deputy Designated Safeguarding Leads (DSLs). They work closely with partner agencies including: the Multi Agency Safeguarding Hub (MASH) Team, Social Care, Health professionals and the Family Solutions Service to provide support to, and safeguard, our children.  They get support and guidance to undertake the DSL role through regular case supervision with the Locality Social Worker for the school and regular Reflective Practice sessions with the school’s private Educational Psychologist.

They have all undertaken specialist Designated Safeguarding Lead training with Oxfordshire Safeguarding Children Board and they refresh this every two years.  They have also undertaken further specialist training to ensure they are up-to-date and well informed to be able to safeguard our children to the best of their abilities. This training in particular includes: Channel Awareness (part of counter terrorism), Child Sexual Exploitation, Forced Marriage, Spirit Possession & Honour Based Violence, Female Genital Mutilation, Online Safety, Antibullying (including dedicated SEND and Sexual Orientation & Gender Identity focussed training), Substance Misuse, Risky Behaviours, Domestic Abuse, Self Harm and Anxieties.

If you have any concerns about the welfare of a child in our care please arrange to see one of them at your earliest opportunity. These concerns could include worries about abuse, bullying, neglect or possible radicalisation.  All of them can be contacted through the school office.

All staff and Governors at the school have Safeguarding training which is refreshed at least every three years as well as having undertaken the Channel Awareness (counter terrorism) module online.  All teaching staff also receive a safeguarding, health & safety and basic first aid summary refresher each year.

All staff at the school offer support to children in need but Mrs Claire Ferens, Mrs Nicky Andrews, Mr Henry Rose and Mrs Jackie Hubbard provide dedicated guidance and help to individual children who suffer difficulties related to issues in school or at home.  Mrs Nicky Andrews and Mr Henry Rose undertook the comprehensive Emotional Literacy Support Assistant (ELSA) training during 2015/16 to further improve the support we offer children who need particular help.  As part of this programme they receive regular, continued supervision with the Local Authority Educational Psychology service.

We are proud to report that:

96.5% of our children report that they feel safe at school.

99% of parents report that their child feels safe at school.

97% of parents feel that their child is well looked after at Hill View School.

(March 2015)

The following document is updated and distributed to parents each year and it details the responsibilities of all with regard to keeping our children safe.

safety-matters-parents-oct-2016-page-001

Safety Matters – parents

Oct 2016


There is a wealth of Safeguarding information, support materials and guidance available on the internet.  Here are some notably useful Safeguarding weblinks. If you come across a website that you feel would be useful for other parents, please let us know and we can add it to our list.

Oxfordshire Safeguarding Children Board  NSPCC – how to report a concern  Gov.uk – Safeguarding Children and Young People
 Safe Network.org  Prevent Tragedies  Prevent for Schools
Internet Matters.org Let’s Talk About It

You can also find a number of online safety related web links here.  The Think U Know site is one of the most comprehensive e-Safety web sites in the UK.

 


“Is that normal?”  That is a regular question parents ask themselves about all aspects of their child’s development.  A particularly difficult area to understand, but more importantly to discuss with anyone, is the sexual development of a child.  Children begin exploring their own bodies at a very young age but some behaviours could be an indication of abuse.  Telling the difference is very hard.  The leaflets below help parents understand how to recognise and respond to age appropriate behaviours in children, support the development of healthy sexual behaviour and protect children from harm or abuse.

Children 5-11

Children under 5


PLEASE NOTE: Hill View School includes ‘Little Acorns Nursery’ and all policies apply to children and staff in both settings unless stated otherwise. Where ‘Hill View School’ is mentioned in any policy this refers to both the main school and Little Acorns Nursery.  Please see the Policies and Forms page to view Safeguarding policies.

October 2017
Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday
Mon 25 Sep 2017 Tue 26 Sep 2017 Wed 27 Sep 2017 Thu 28 Sep 2017 Fri 29 Sep 2017
Mon 2 Oct 2017 Tue 3 Oct 2017 Wed 4 Oct 2017 Thu 5 Oct 2017 Fri 6 Oct 2017
Mon 9 Oct 2017 Tue 10 Oct 2017 Wed 11 Oct 2017 Thu 12 Oct 2017 Fri 13 Oct 2017
Mon 16 Oct 2017 Tue 17 Oct 2017 Wed 18 Oct 2017 Thu 19 Oct 2017 Fri 20 Oct 2017

End of Term 1

End of Term 1
Mon 23 Oct 2017

October Holiday

October Holiday
Tue 24 Oct 2017

October Holiday

October Holiday
Wed 25 Oct 2017

October Holiday

October Holiday
Thu 26 Oct 2017

October Holiday

October Holiday
Fri 27 Oct 2017

October Holiday

October Holiday
Mon 30 Oct 2017

Start Term 2

Start Term 2
Tue 31 Oct 2017 Wed 1 Nov 2017 Thu 2 Nov 2017 Fri 3 Nov 2017
Upcoming Events
Subscribe via Email

Enter your email address to receive notifications of News & Events by email.