Speech and Language Support

Mrs McHale is our specialist Speech and Language Teaching Assistant. She works with children across the school and liaises with other supporting agencies in order to best meet the needs of the children.  

We have always worked closely with the NHS Speech and Language Therapy Service and the Local Authority LACAT (Language and Communication Advisory Teacher) to provide appropriate support for our children.  

In September 2013, we added the services of a private company – Talk Therapy – to our package of additional Speech and Language support at Hill View.  Much as we receive excellent support from the NHS and LA services, their heavy caseloads have meant that reviews and support can be infrequent, sometimes resulting in ineffective or inappropriate intervention. We have chosen to invest in the additional services of Talk Therapy to complement and improve the support we can offer our children.  Speech and Language difficulties can have an enormous impact on progress and achievement but, in many cases, can be overcome permanently with carefully tailored and targeted support.  

The number of children coming into school with Speech and Language related needs has markedly increased over the past few years.  By adding the services of Talk Therapy, we can offer very early intervention to children having difficulty which could dramatically improve their academic achievement. We target children within Little Acorns as well as across the rest of the school.  

Many children start school already receiving support for Speech and Language Needs and these children will automatically become part of our internal caseload. Class teachers may recommend to you that your child could benefit from additional support and can make an internal referral for you.  If you wish to discuss your child directly with Mrs McHale, you can find her in the middle area of C Block or simply ask to make an appointment with her at reception.

You can find out more about Talk Therapy at http://www.speechtherapywarwickshire.co.uk/

October 2017
Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday
Mon 25 Sep 2017 Tue 26 Sep 2017 Wed 27 Sep 2017 Thu 28 Sep 2017 Fri 29 Sep 2017
Mon 2 Oct 2017 Tue 3 Oct 2017 Wed 4 Oct 2017 Thu 5 Oct 2017 Fri 6 Oct 2017
Mon 9 Oct 2017 Tue 10 Oct 2017 Wed 11 Oct 2017 Thu 12 Oct 2017 Fri 13 Oct 2017
Mon 16 Oct 2017 Tue 17 Oct 2017 Wed 18 Oct 2017 Thu 19 Oct 2017 Fri 20 Oct 2017

End of Term 1

End of Term 1
Mon 23 Oct 2017

October Holiday

October Holiday
Tue 24 Oct 2017

October Holiday

October Holiday
Wed 25 Oct 2017

October Holiday

October Holiday
Thu 26 Oct 2017

October Holiday

October Holiday
Fri 27 Oct 2017

October Holiday

October Holiday
Mon 30 Oct 2017

Start Term 2

Start Term 2
Tue 31 Oct 2017 Wed 1 Nov 2017 Thu 2 Nov 2017 Fri 3 Nov 2017
Upcoming Events
Subscribe via Email

Enter your email address to receive notifications of News & Events by email.